Lycanthrope Cosmetics: Business Cards and More

Published January 13, 2016 by baileyquillincooper

I wanted to post about this last week, but I was tied up with work and then totally emotionally wrecked by David Bowie’s passing…he really meant a lot to me, like I know he also did to so many people all over the world (see my tribute to him in my last post.) Moving forward, the weekend of February 6th-7th I am going to be a vendor at a werewolf-themed horror convention in Washington called HowlCon, so my next mini-project is going to be making my inventory. I will be selling my custom-painted, hyperrealistic prosthetic werewolf ears, snouts, and noses, as well as a few other cute monster-themed accessories, all under the name Lycanthrope Cosmetics. It’s a little company that I have come up with just for this occasion, but since I plan on producing a considerable amount of prosthetics and other items I will also be creating a separate Etsy store after the fact that is just for Lycanthrope Cosmetics. My custom werewolf prosthetics were always such a huge hit whenever I had them in Quarley’s Shop, especially around Halloween, so I want there to be a way for people to still order them after the convention is over. Last week I drew up a business card logo just for Lycanthrope Cosmetics and this event. It’s based off of those classic salon window decals from the 80’s. This one in particular, actually:

salon-window-decoration-decal-face-and-hand-24x36

This is the line work for the image that I came up with:

Lycanthrope Cosmetics Logo in progress

Here is the finished card. I designed the logo image like I mentioned, and my husband Martyn did all the text and layout. Front:

businesscard

Back:

businesscard

Get it? Haha.

Oh, and here are some photos of some of the custom noses and ears I have painted for clients in the past. This first picture is an example of some of the popular fur color variations that I have done:

Werewolf Ears Color Variations

I always start with the Woochie and Don Post latex costume prosthetics that you can get discounted from Halloween shops or occasionally in bulk quantities online. The overall structure and material of those latex pieces that you can buy in the store is pretty great, but they always either come unpainted or airbrushed in some horrible flat band-aid pink skin tone that no human being actually is. I’ve developed a few techniques to do a complete repaint on the pieces to match real skin tones and sheen/texture, and then I hand-glue fur sprouting from the ears and noses for some added realism. I also normally custom make each prosthetic to order, so I will literally match each of my client’s exact skin tone and hair/fur color if they send me a reference picture of themselves. Below are two past clients and their corresponding pieces:

Custom Werewolf Color Matching

I’ve got to make a whole inventory of prosthetics for the event, so I’m just going to make sure that I’ve got a good selection of skin tones and fur color combinations for people to choose from. In addition to what I call my classic Wolfman style noses and ears like I’ve posted above, I will also be offering some larger style ears and a few custom elongated werewolf snouts like the one I made for my more realistic, An American Werewolf in London inspired, mid-transformation werewolf getup. The snouts are also a latex prosthetic that was sculpted and cast by a Canadian company called NorthFurFX.  They’re really well-made and so striking when worn. This is what mine looks like when it’s not on my face…the one in the foreground is the most recent incarnation that I made for last year’s Howl Con:

IMG_7756

I had even added one of my nose rings to the left nostril because I’m all about the small details! This is more or less what it looks like on me when I wear it:

IMG_7824

Yep, I even got myself a big dish of beef chow mein. I’m hilarious.

So yeah, I gotta make a lot of werewolf ears, noses, and snouts. I’m also going to make a few new interesting variants that I’ve never made, like some crazy-colored fur pieces and the the full snout version of a kitsune/huli jing, the Japanese/Chinese were-fox. Also some additional neat jewelry and accessories to fit the theme like I mentioned. It’s going to be a lot of work in not a lot of time. I’m somewhat concerned yet very excited about it. My husband Martyn and I are actually going to be sharing a booth so it should make for an easier setup at least. He’s going to be selling buttons like he usually does through his job at PORK Magazine/Goblinko Megamall and his own personal button business Power Pop Pins, only he’s going to be selling an especially made werewolf-themed inventory under the name Big Bad Buttons. He probably will bring a few PORK buttons and patches with us as well because Sean Aaberg has drawn several of his designs based off of the Universal monsters, and since this year marks the 75th anniversary of Lon Chaney Jr. as The Wolfman, it seems kinda appropriate.

Anyway, that’s pretty much a summary of all that’s going on right now…I’ll be back later right after I kick some serious painted latex ass.

 

 

Leave a Reply

