HowlCon Canceled (but look at the cool stuff I started on anyway)

Published January 21, 2016 by baileyquillincooper

Yup. I had a bad feeling about it too…I was already approved as a vendor for 2016 but the later on in the year as it got without another reply from the Con Alpha about my application invoice, the more I had started to worry that there had been another problem with attendance or the venue. Last year’s turnout in February was actually pretty good, but the venue was the Red Lion Hotel just over the bridge in Washington, making it pretty easy to get to for the all of the attendees who were mostly coming from Portland, myself included. Then on Halloween of last year that hotel closed down forever. HowlCon was re-homed to the Red Lion in Kelso, Washington, which I guess is this far out little town that I’ve never even heard of. Unfortunately from what I have just heard this totally zapped the attendance so they’re having to cancel the event. I’ve heard rumors of a possible future reschedule later in the year if the right venue and time slot are found, but since those are just rumors, I’ve decided to pump the brakes on making my inventory for Lycanthrope Cosmetics until further notice. I do still have my children’s book (Kris and Krampus Kringle) and a few corresponding dolls and/or puppets to make in the meantime.

Anyway, I spent a good part of the weekend working on the first round of my inventory so I’ll show you what I had so far. I started with the slush cast latex werewolf snouts that I ordered from NorthFurFX. They were all unpainted to begin with so I started on the paint jobs. I paint my prosthetics using my own technique I’ve developed that involves many layers of thin glazes of water-based paints, which unlike the oil-based stuff, does not erode the latex over time. The paints I use are usually a mixture of acrylic paints, water-based enamel paints, and gloss varnish. I had a few wolf noses, a fox nose, and also a small domestic cat nose that I believe was made by Woochie. I had planned out the corresponding fur patterns for all of them as well, but I hadn’t made it past the painting stage when I heard the news. One of them I hadn’t even painted yet, so I left it blank for the future or for a “before” photo comparison. Here they are unpainted with the fur colors I was thinking about using for each one. I know a lot of people with colorful hair so I figured why not experiment with some of my crazier colors for a change?

IMG_1368

IMG_1369

Here they are as I began to paint them in assembly line fashion:

IMG_1376

And here’s some individual close ups, with the different skin tones and corresponding fur combinations I was planning. My own previously completed werewolf nose with light skin, dark brown/pink fur, and a pierced nose, above one of the newly painted noses of a similar skin color that’s eventually going to have a medium brownish/ash blonde fur, possibly with subtle little streaks of rainbow colors:

IMG_1384

IMG_1381

Another much darker, medium/tan skin nose that will have a combination of silver and dark brown fur in the future, pictured with an unpainted nose:

IMG_1382

In contrast a very pale, ivory colored nose with freckles for someone with a naturally fair/pinkish skin tone. This one will have light blonde and white fur for an albino wolf look:

IMG_1378.jpg

As a general rule, animals with freckles on their noses or tongues are the cutest thing ever.

IMG_1379

Here’s my werefox nose, aka Huli Jing to the Chinese and Kitsune to the Japanese. They have a lot of shapeshifting fox spirits in their mythologies. It will have your typical red fox fur pattern when completed.

IMG_1380

And lastly, here’s the werecat, which will have that tawny rust orange tabby patterned fur when finished:

IMG_1383

One last group photo before I pack it all up ’till next time:

IMG_1389

Oh yeah, and one more bonus pic–my drink of choice while I was doing all this was an odd combination of aquavit and grapefruit juice with a squirt of lime!

IMG_1372

It’s really too bad, I had been a little reluctant to start on this after I just finished my last big project, but once I got into in I realized that they were coming out really well…I just love painting textures and interesting color blends like this. At least they will “save” just fine until HowlCon reschedules or until Halloween, when I’ll just plan to start up my Etsy store regardless. For now I guess it’s also better that I focus on the more important bigger projects that I’ve kind of had on hold since before I made all those Christmas gifts. As soon as I clean up the mountain of fur, paint, and rubber noses off of my art desk you’ll be seeing me posting back on here again…hopefully, very, very soon!

 

Leave a Reply

