A Welcome Good Day & The Hardback Proof

Published August 17, 2016 by baileyquillincooper

The last week has been very stressful and upsetting. Martyn and I were struggling with the home loan pre-approval process for what seemed like an excessively long amount of time, only to come to the rather horrifying realization that the $12,000 or so odd savings that we have barely managed to scrape together over the past couple of years might not even cover the closing costs of our theoretical house in question, much less a down payment. Just a recap: we also spent the better part of this year battling debt that was still left over from our cross-country move in order to make our credit look as squeaky clean as possible. After a few extremely depressing conversations with our bank and our future realtor about the skyrocketing prices of houses in Portland and the greatly more monetarily endowed competition that we’re going to be up against in what is currently one of the most cutthroat markets on the West Coast, we were both about ready to give up on the dream before we even really began. It really seemed like the past decade of running the rat race, being a stickler about my credit even when I would have much rather been another irresponsible partying 20-something year old, working so hard towards moving to a state where I would want to grow up and settle down, and having the strength to decline dream jobs in order to continue working at dependable places where I no longer want to work for years and years just for the reliable job history that looks so excellent on paper had all been for nothing. We were, in a word, crushed–and literally both facedown on the bed in a sad crumpled pile in a darkened room in the middle of a beautiful sunny August afternoon.

Then, somehow…and I don’t really know how…we managed to pick ourselves up, do a little frantic research on the computer, and make the decision to try it again anyway. Maybe it’s still all pointless, but at least now I feel that we’re a little better educated on some of our other options for low or no down payment option loans. It’s almost enough to dare to hope again, and goddamnit if that’s not something!

So it was such a welcome surprise today to find out out that we have in fact been pre-qualified for $250,000! I know that might not be much for Portland anymore, but it’s at least enough to finally give it an honest shot! There are plenty of three-bedroom, rough-around-the-edges ranches and well-worn bungalows on my Redfin favorites list for under $250,000 that I know we could make shine with a little TLC if only we could be lucky enough to score one. Our real estate agent has advised us that unless we experience a miracle, it will probably take us a couple of trys…so all the reason to start our trying right now. I’m just so relieved that at long last, we can at least do that much!

In other news…THE HARDCOVER PROOF ARRIVED TODAY FROM BOOKBABY! And it’s…well, gorgeous.

IMG_4031.JPG

The inside is even better. I’m so incredibly happy with it!

IMG_4025.JPG

Even Grendel was curious why I was so excited about the little flat thing that I found inside the box on our doorstep.

IMG_4026.JPG

Next is the launch of the Kickstarter campaign, where I will include all of the information I know up to this point about the release of the book and the amount of fundraising that will be needed to reach that goal. I’ve never used Kickstarter before, but my understanding is you need to spend a lot of time making a very informative page complete with an awkward and embarrassing home video to plug your proposed product.  I wish I could afford to just pay for the whole thing out of pocket, but alas, I am not one of those aforementioned greatly more monetarily endowed persons…so awkward and embarrassing home video it is! Now that I’ve got my book in the mail Martyn and I will most likely try shooting a little something this weekend. I’ll let you know whenever that atrocity goes up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

